The Workflow Editor found in the Settings section of Mintent enables authorized Admin users to create detailed step-by-step single branch and dual parallel workflow templates via a drag and drop interface, which can be assigned to specific Content Types. Each workflow can be custom configured with default owners, stage durations (i.e. the typical time it takes to complete a stage), assignees, descriptions and instructions for those who will be involved managing Content Items. Workflow templates can also be edited ad hoc or on the fly if changes need to be made within an active Content Item.

Creating a New Workflow

1.  Navigate to Settings>Workflows and click the +New Workflow button.

2. Give your new workflow a unique name and click Enter.

3. Select the workflow Owners, Owners Limit and designate whether or not the workflow will be a Stretch Event.

Owners - limit workflow ownership to a specific user(s), so when an item is created using this workflow the default owner will be specified.

Owners Limit - define owners from a specific list of users with specifics roles or groups of users.  As an example you may designate the role "Admin" as the default Owners Limit, so every time a new Content Item is created you can only choose from users with Admin access.

Stretch Event - used to have Content Items displayed as stretched out across multiple days within the Calendar view.

4. Drag and drop a Working, Single Approval or Multi-Approval Stage Type into the Workflow Editor.

  • Working - Working stages can be marked as complete without specific user approval
  • Single Approval - Approval required by a single assigned user
  • Multi-Approval - Requires approval by multiple users

Assign Default: The users listed here are assigned to that particular stage in the workflow. If the stage is set to Single Approval then only one of those users needs to approve (or skip the stage) to move the next stage in the workflow. If the stage is set to Multi-Approval then all assigned users need to approve (or skip the stage) before moving to the next stage in the workflow. If the stage is a Working stage then the assigned User will set the stage to Completed to move through the next stage. 

Assign Limit: The users listed here are the only users that can be assigned to the stage. This is also to provide a dropdown list of the people who might be involved in the approvals and ensures the stages are locked. 

How to Move a Stage

To move a stage/change its order in the workflow, simply hover over the Like icon next to the stage name and then drag it above or below another stage in the workflow. You can tell if a stage is moveable if/when the cursor changes to this: 

5. Click the wrench icon associated with any stage to adjust the configuration of the stage including Name, Stage Type, Assignee Defaults (default users assigned to a stage)/Limits (limited list of user who can be assigned to a stage), Description and any Special Instructions.

6. Continue this process of adding stages above, below or beside each other to define your desired flow. NOTE: Only two parallel branches and one parallel level can currently be accommodated. Multiple parallel branches will be developed in the future.

7. Once a workflow has been created it can be associated with any applicable Content Type(s).

Creative Brief Workflow Design

1. Link Due Dates (set to ON by default) appears at the top of each workflow and maintains the gap between Stage Due Dates based on default Stage Durations. Note: If you are ad hoc editing a live workflow, you may wish to turn Link Due Dates off in order to not affect future target Due Dates when adding a stage to a workflow.

2. Workflow Stage Editing is completed via a popup window where Due Dates, Assignees and Comments can be added or adjusted as needed.

3. Requesting Revisions within a branched parallel workflow will reset the entire branched flow if those revisions are required in a stage prior to the branch. Users will receive the following warning if they attempt to submit these types of requests "This action will undo the other branch's progress as well. Do you want to proceed?"

List>My Tasks>Actions

Creative Brief items with parallel workflows will appear multiple times in List>My Tasks to accommodate the Actions (i.e. Mark as Complete or Request Revisions), which may be taken in parallel branches. 

Please reach out to support@getmintent.com if you have any questions about how to use and/or take full advantage of this new feature.

Did this answer your question?