Authorized Mintent users with Create and Edit Workflow Editor permissions are able to make ad hoc, on-the-fly changes to Workflows associated with active Content Items.

 

Simply click the Edit Workflow button in the upper right hand corner of workflow to access a separate Workflow Editor where stages may be added to or deleted from the workflow and configured with default Owners, Assignees and Stage Durations, as needed. Stages which are Completed or Active may not be edited. NOTE: Editing a workflow is a "locked" action with a 10 minute time limit to ensure the integrity of the workflow. Any edits/changes must be saved within this 10 minute window or they will be lost.

Editing a Workflow

Workflow editing in Mintent includes drag and drop functionality for flexible stage creation, as well as the ability to create dual parallel workflows.

1. Select the workflow Owners, Owners Limit and designate whether or not the workflow will be a Stretch Event. 

Owners - limit workflow ownership to a specific user(s), so when an item is created using this workflow the default owner will be specified.

Owners Limit - define owners from a specific list of users with specific roles or groups of users.  As an example, you may designate the role "Admin" as the default Owners Limit, so every time a new Content Item is created you can only choose from users with Admin access.

Stretch Event - used to have Content Items displayed as stretched out across multiple days within the Calendar view.

2. Drag and drop a Working, Single Approval or Multi-Approval Stage Type into the Workflow Editor.

  • Working - Working stages can be marked as complete without specific user approval
  • Single Approval - Approval required by a single assigned user
  • Multi-Approval - Requires approval by multiple users

3. Assign Default: The users listed here are assigned to that particular stage in the workflow. If the stage is set to Single Approval then only one of those users needs to approve (or skip the stage) to move the next stage in the workflow. If the stage is set to Multi-Approval then all assigned users need to approve (or skip the stage) before moving to the next stage in the workflow. If the stage is a Working stage then the assigned User will set the stage to Completed to move through the next stage. 

Assign Limit: The users listed here are the only users that can be assigned to the stage. This is also to provide a dropdown list of the people who might be involved in the approvals and ensures the stages are locked. 

4. To move a stage and/or change its order in the workflow, simply hover over the Like icon next to the stage name and then drag it above or below another stage in the workflow.

5. Click the wrench icon associated with any stage to adjust the configuration of the stage including Name, Stage Type, Stage Duration (default 1 Day), Assign Defaults (default users assigned to a stage), Assign Limits (limited list of user who can be assigned to a stage), Description and any Special Instructions.

6. Continue this process of adding, deleting or moving stages above, below or beside each other to define your desired flow. NOTE: Only two dual parallel branches and one parallel level can currently be accommodated in Mintent. Support for the creation of multiple parallel branches at multiple levels will be developed in the future.

 

Creative Brief Workflow Design

1. Link Due Dates (set to ON by default) appears at the top of each workflow and maintains the gap between Stage Due Dates based on default Stage Durations. Note:If you are ad hoc editing a live workflow, you may wish to turn Link Due Dates off in order to not affect future target Due Dates when adding a stage to a workflow.

 

2. Workflow Stage Editing is completed via a popup window where Due Dates, Assignees and Comments can be added or adjusted as needed.

 

3. Requesting Revisions within a branched parallel workflow will reset the entire branched flow if those revisions are required in a stage prior to the branch. Users will receive the following warning if they attempt to submit these types of requests "This action will undo the other branch's progress as well. Do you want to proceed?"
 

Saving Edited Workflows

Once edits are complete authorized users can click Save And... to either return to the Active Workflow in the Content Item they are working on or they can choose to turn their edited Workflow in to a Master Template for application to other existing or future Content Items. Unauthorized users will not have this second option made available to them.

List>My Tasks>Actions

Creative Brief items with parallel workflows will appear multiple times in List>My Tasks to accommodate the Actions (i.e. Mark as Complete or Request Revisions), which may be taken in dual parallel branches.

 

 

Please contact support@getmintent.com or use the chat feature within Mintent if you have any questions regarding this feature, its function or the configuration of user permissions.

Did this answer your question?