User permissions for Ad Hoc Workflow Editing can be configured in Settings>Users>Role Settings as follows:

  • Permission: Can Edit Items
    All stages (except for current & completed) are editable
    New stages can be added
    Future stages can be deleted

    Actions buttons:
    Cancel - Discard changes and return to workflow
    Save - Save edits and remain on edit screen
    Save and... Return to Workflow -  Save edits and return to the active workflow 
  • Permission: Can Edit Items AND Can Create Workflows AND Can Edit Workflows
    All stages (except for current & completed) are editable
    New stages can be added
    Future stages can be deleted

    Actions buttons:
    Cancel - Discard changes and return to workflow
    Save - Save edits and remain on edit screen
    Save and... Return to Workflow - Save edits and return to the active workflow
    Save and... Create a New Master Workflow - Save workflow at its current state as a new master workflow. Popup will appear to ask for Workflow Name. Once saved, this new workflow can be accessed and applied to Content Types under in Settings > Workflow. 
  • Permission: Can View Items
    Users WILL NOT be able to access the Edit Workflow screen. They WILL NOT see the edit workflow button.
Did this answer your question?