When managing the distribution of your content strategy, the editorial calendar gives you seamless ability to organize your efforts and share your content with others.
With the editorial calendar you can:
- View your content, colour-coded
- Create and save report filters for ease of viewing at later dates
- Easily share your content across your distribution channels
- Manage deadlines
- Proactively plan ahead
Calendar vs. List View
You can toggle between a calendar view or list view by clicking on the calendar/list icons situated in the upper left.
List view benefits
List view is great for quickly scanning content items that might be missing important information such as associated personas.
You can sort by header name to sort alphabetically, by a specific person, or by attribute.
You're also able to bulk delete, or action any content item that's upcoming. This is handy if for example a content item is no longer needed. Without going into the content item, the list view helps with managing actions that need to be taken on your content.
Calendar view benefits
The calendar view, since it's colour-coded, allows for easily scanning where your team is spending efforts across the month.
Updating target due dates: You can also drag and drop items on the calendar view to change the target publish date. Simply click and hold, dragging the content item across dates.
Quickly view more about a content item: By hovering over any content item, you're able to get more information about the title, content type, and any themes associated with that content item.
Filtering and creating saved views
As your calendar fills up, easily report back on using saved filters. Save time each time you need to get at-a-glance updates on content status' by accessing a continuously viewed filters through your saved filters.
By default you'll see the following filters to help with quick access:
- My Tasks: Outstanding items that are assigned to you across all content items in all calendars
- Team Tasks: Outstanding items associated with the calendars that you belong to
- Global Calendar: This will only appear if you're in a sub-calendar. If your team only uses 1 calendar, this option will not appear
- Activity Feed: Access a list view of all actions that have occurred across your local sub-calendar as well as global calendar.
Once you've created saved filters, those views will also appear here.
Creating new views
To create a new view click the + button on the top right of the Views panel.
When creating a new view you have the option to:
- Add a title for your saved view
- Include/Exclude options from each filter section
If you belong to more than 1 calendar, your calendars will appear.
All listed sections will vary calendar-to-calendar as the fields that you can put into the content briefs are customizable. Your view may have more or less options.
By clicking twice on an option within a section you're choosing to "exclude" any content item that matches that choice. For example, if you select all Articles and Posts, but exclude Landing Pages, anything that is tagged as both an article and landing page will be excluded and you will only see those tagged article.
Once you've selected the appropriate options to create your view, save at the top.
You're also able to clear your selection if you've made an error along the way.
You may also jump to this article for a quick video tutorial.
Sharing your view with others
Once you have saved your filter, you can add other stakeholders who may find your saved view helpful. By default, saved filters are only visible in your account until you share them with others.
Sharing View PDF/CSV: At the bottom of the Views panel is an option to export. This is handy if you're sharing your view with external stakeholders that don't have access to Mintent. The share URL is handy if you want to allow someone else to save the filter to their account, but not have it automatically appear in their saved views.
If you're looking to have your saved view auto-populate in someone's Saved Views area, click on Edit on the top right once you've selected the appropriate view under Saved Views.
At the bottom of the panel you'll have the option to edit Permissions. You can:
- Select who can view your view by default
- Select who can modify your saved view
These options can be assigned to a role (anyone assigned that role now has access), or to individual people.
This is also where you remove a view that is no longer necessary.